Family Intervention Crisis Services
Your Subtitle text
Centre County
310 W. Linn Street
Bellefonte, PA 16823
Phone: 814-355-3807
Toll Free: 1-888-303-3427
Fax: 814-353-3179

Centre County In-Home FICS Program 

What is the FICS program? The FICS program is an invitation for families to experience a unique opportunity for healing and growth.  FICS is an in-home intensive individual and family therapy program that’s

  

very framework is designed to offer true empowerment.  FICS joins with families in such a way that creates the opportunity for learning and growth to occur.  One example of this is that FICS offers around the clock availability for crisis that may arise when a family is out of harmony.  When thinking about families, there are some unique challenges.  What families need means different things to different people.  This is why FICS spans a variety of services on a continuum of needs.  Some of these services are targeted to address basic needs such as concrete services, pro-social programs and psychosocial educational opportunities.  At the same time, FICS offers services that address more intimate needs such as counseling involving some of the most important relationships in life-individual, couple, and family.  The combination of clinical wisdom and self-awareness provide clients with an open door to experience change and the freedom that comes with it.  While the focus of FICS services revolves around children’s safety, the opportunities to experience growth in a variety of areas also exist. 


Staff Job Title Ext. Email Address
Amy Sellitti FICS Director 204 arsn64@yahoo.com 
Jason Coslo FICS Family Counselor 228 jbcoslo@yahoo.com
Amanda Adkinson FICS Family Counselor 206 aadkinson@fics1988.com
Karen Dunlap FICS Family Counselor 226 kdunlap@fics1988.com
Holly Coleman FICS Family Counselor 209 hmiller1@hotmail.com
Lauren McLaughlin FICS Family Counselor 205 lmclaughlin@fics1988.com
Marie Berni FICS Family Counselor 208 mkochik@fics1988.com
Susan Ruth FICS Family Counselor 225 dutchhorse13@gmail.com
Judy Machon FICS Family Counselor 207 jmachon@fics1988.com
Jana Rohrbach  FICS Family Counselor 229  jana.rohrbach8@gmail.com
Deb McKivison Administrative Assistant 201 fics1988@comcast.net 


 

Centre County Reunification Program

The Centre County Reunification Program exists to help each child achieve and maintain a permanent plan in a timely manner. The purpose of the program is to focus on the strengths and needs of each child and family, while using a variety of efficient, time limited, goal-oriented services and support to determine the optimal level of reconnection that is appropriate.

Referrals for the FICS Reunification Program are received from Children and Youth Services (CYS) or Juvenile Probation Office (JPO).  The Reunification Program works primarily with families whose children have been placed in the care and custody of CYS/JPO. 

Once the referral is received by FICS, an Administrative Meeting is scheduled in order to discuss the case and to determine if it is appropriate for services.  The Administrative Meeting is followed by a Family Meeting in order to share the concerns with the family which were identified by CYS/JPO as preventing the child from returning home.

An assessment is made following the Family Meeting in which the family’s strengths and needs are identified.  A Service Agreement is developed within 45 days of the Family Meeting which identifies goals and tasks which must be accomplished by the family in order for the child to successfully return home.  This Service Agreement is reviewed every six months or in accordance with court proceedings.  The Service Agreement and Service Agreement Reviews are submitted to the court for its review.  Addendums to the Service Agreement may occur at any time an issue or change occurs.

Services for the family may include but are not limited to individual sessions, family sessions, marital sessions, permanency services for the child, visitation, parent education, lifestyle checks, and drug/alcohol testing.  Services may occur in the home, office, or community.  FICS will also maintain contact with other services or service providers as appropriate.

In addition to working with the family, FICS provides concurrent planning.  This includes identifying kinship resources for the child and/or alternative placement resources should the child be unable to return home. 


Staff Job Title       Ext. Email Address
Mollie Funk Program Director        231 mfunk@fics1988.com
Dana Barnhart Program Supervisor        211 dbarnhart@fics1988.com
Josie Capparelle REU Family Counselor        210 jcapparelle@fics1988.com
Tara Harlos REU Family Counselor        245 tharlos@fics1988.com
Joni Hubler REU Family Counselor        234 jhubler@fics1988.com
Jessica DuFour REU Family Counselor        214 jdufour@fics1988.com
Lena Del Valle REU Family Counselor        233 lholderman@fics1988.com
Tansey Ochs REU Family Counselor        224 tochs@fics1988.com
Christina Ulmer Parent Educator        213 culmer@fics1988.com
Kara Peterson Parent Educator        238 kpeterson@fics1988.com
Kylee Holderman Parent Educator       237 kholderman@fics1988.com
Lindsey Abersold Parent Educator        230 labersold@fics1988.com
Mary Ann Hill Administrative Assistant        202 mahill@fics1988.com
     
                                                                                       
                                         
 

Centre County Independent Living Program

ELIGIBILITY AND HOW TO ACCESS SERVICES

The Centre County Independent Living (IL) Program is a program of the Centre County Children and Youth Services agency.  Wardell and Associates administer this program on their behalf. Either a CYS Caseworker or Juvenile Probation Officer must make a referral to the IL program.

 

The program is designed to work with youth ages 14-21 to provide them with the basic living skills that they will need to achieve and successfully maintain independence.

 

The program is considered voluntary for youth ages 14-21.  The primary criteria is that youth need to have been in placement on or after their 14th birthday to be eligible for IL services.  Youth may choose to discontinue their participation in the program, however they remain eligible to reopen services until the age of 21.

WHAT SERVICES ARE AVAILABLE?

The program offers a wide variety of treatment services that are structured around each youth’s individual needs.  Skills are taught through a variety of means including the use of packets, workbooks, individual sessions, group sessions, and role modeling.

The program covers two areas of needs, “hard skills” and “soft skills.” Hard skills include, but are not limited to the teaching of areas such as banking, apartment hunting, job seeking skills, budgeting, and educational planning.  Soft skills include, but are not limited to anger management, parenting skills, problem solving skills, goal-oriented behaviors, and interpersonal communication.

Youth work their way through a level system with stipend money available to them upon successfully completing the requirements for each level in the program.

The IL Counselors work with the youth and service providers in coordinating any additional services including housing, education, and mental health services in order to provide each youth the ability to meet their goals.

HOW ARE SERVICES PROVIDED?

The IL Program is designed for each youth to work at their own pace.  Services are provided in the home, placement, office, school, or community.  Frequency of sessions depends on what level the youth is on which varies from weekly to an as needed basis.  Distance of the youth may also alter the frequency of services.

RESOURCES
Know Your Rights
Youth Advisory Board

Staff                            Job Title                                Ext.            Email Address
Mollie Funk               Program Director                 231             
mfunk@fics1988.com
Brad Grieb                Counselor                               217             bgrieb@fics1988.com
 
Monica Ochs             Counselor                               235             
mochs@fics1988.com
Katie Kopchik           Counselor                               215             kkopchik@fics1988.com



Centre County Custody Monitoring Program

Custody Monitoring Program is designed to address the needs of families and children in Centre County who during a custodial action also require the services of Children and Youth.  Custodial conflicts place children in the middle of complicated and emotionally charged situations.  Children and Youth Services are frequently utilized as an agent of the court to give an assessment and/or to provide ongoing services to address and monitor the safety issues that exist for a child. This utilization of Children and Youth can put additional strains on their resources.  Safety must be assured through an ongoing effort of the court with the assistance of Centre County Children and Youth to be able to have adequate services available for each child.


Staff                             Job Title                    Ext.                    Email Address
Daniel James              Custody Monitor      232
                    
djames@fics1988.com

Jennifer Hofe              Custody Monitor      212                     
jhofe@fics1988.com
Website Builder